Skip to main content

carolina-care-excellenceEvery year, UNC Hospitals conducts the Press Ganey Medical Practice survey to obtain input from patients. Patients are asked if they would refer their provider’s practice to friends and family in the survey.

Over the last year, 154 providers within UNC Hospitals received the highest recommendation from more than 89 percent of their patients, putting them in the top quartile nationally. These physicians and advanced practice providers deserve recognition for their contributions to providing an extraordinary patient experience.

The 2022 UNC Hospitals and Faculty Physicians Award for Carolina Care Excellence has been given to these providers in recognition of their outstanding care. Of the 154 winning providers, 70 are from the Department of Medicine.

Congratulations to the following Carolina Care Excellence Award winners from the Department of Medicine:

Anil Kishin Gehi, MD-bristol-meyers-squibb-grant-AF
Anil Kishin Gehi, MD

Division of Cardiology

Vikki Griffin Metheny, BSN, MSN, ANP

Division of Endocrinology & Metabolism

Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Shari Sibenge, RD, LDN

Division of General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology

Division of Geriatric Medicine

Hendrik Van Deventer, MD

Division of Hematology

Emily Chang, MD

Division of Nephrology & Hypertension

Kunal Patel, MD, PhD

Division of Oncology

Division of Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine

Sofija Volertas
Sofija Volertas, MD

Division of Rheumatology, Allergy & Immunology