Skip to main content


The UNC Neurocritical Care fellowship obtained ACGME accreditation in January 2024.  The two-year fellowship graduated the first fellow in 2016 and has expanded to two positions per year since 2018.  The fellows rotate through a 22-bed neurocritical care (NCC) unit and other critical care electives, with an emphasis on milestones and progressive responsibility, extensive formative evaluation, and structured training that is consistent with national quality standards.  The seven NCC faculty are all board certified by ABPN, with two being dual certified in UCNS/ABPN including program director Dr. Tamara Strohm and division chief Dr. David Hwang.  These faculty are committed to the education of the fellows.

ACGME accreditation was first made possible in 2021 and comes with some significant changes: 1) After 2024, only ACGME graduates may sit for the ABPN neurocritical care boards; 2) After 2024, J1 visa candidates may only enter ACGME programs.  Given that almost 1/3 of NCC fellowship slots go unfilled every year, achieving accreditation is an enormous accomplishment for the department of neurology.

David Y. Hwang, MD, FAAN, FCCM, FNCS
Dr. David Y. Hwang, MD, FAAN, FCCM, FNCS
Tamara Strohm, MD
Dr. Tamara Strohm, MD

To learn more about the Neurocritical Care Fellowship here >>