Skip to main content
On behalf of Karlina Matthews, Martha Modlin and Patty Saponaro welcome the first-ever SOM Pathways cohort, September 2023

The Pathways Program of the Executive Dean’s Office administrative team is an eight month program designed to prepare potential School of Medicine staff leaders for success.

The twenty staff members in the group were nominated by their leaders and chosen by committee review. The inaugural participants are (in alphabetical order): Jan Badstein, Robin Brennan, Jacob Collins, Amy Edge, Jessica Ferrall, Simone Frank, Jalimar Gonzalez, Melissa Graves, Joe Hatch, Kelsey Haywood, Ashley Heidinger, Tom Loter, Matt Marocsik, Katie Mills, Myton Morton, Rachel Quinto, April Scharfenberg, Myra Suarez, Catja van Heusden and Michael Vavlitis.

The cohort will explore various topics needed to be a successful leader at the SOM, such as understanding self and work style, moving from individual contributor to leading the work of others, basic academic healthcare finance, and concepts of process improvement. Participants will develop their communication and storytelling skills, and learn more about all missions of the SOM. In addition to classroom learning and activities, each participant is matched with a mentor to expand their perspective and explore their goals.