Skip to main content

The Translation Team Science Awards (TTSA) program provides funds to new teams of both basic scientists and clinicians working to initiate innovative translational pilot projects aimed at building the infrastructure for future grant funding.

Phase one teams are awarded $50,000 over a 12-month period to begin to fully engage team members in the development of a project. These teams also are eligible to submit a proposal for additional TTSA phase two funding or $75,000 for 1 year upon the completion of phase one.

The UNC School of Medicine Office of Research administers the program and is pleased to announce the most recent awards to the following three teams:

2023-24 TTSA phase one recipients

  • Leon Coleman, MD, PhD (assistant professor, pharmacology) Zibo Li, PhD (professor, radiology) & Steven Rowe, MD, PhD (professor, radiology)
    • “A New Translational Team for Early Diagnosis and Prevention of Alzheimer’s Disease ”
  • William Kim, MD,PhD (professor, medicine, genetics, pharmacology), Brian Kuhlman, PhD (professor, biochemistry and biophysics) & Shawn Yu, MD (fellow, medicine)
    • “Multispecific T-cell engagers targeting intracellular cancer-testis antigens in urothelial carcinoma”

2023-24 TTSA phase two recipient

  • Brandi Reeves, MD (assistant professor, medicine) & Rafal Pawlinski, PhD (professor, medicine)
    • “Hypoxia Inducible Factors alpha in Myeloproliferative Neoplasm-Associated Thrombosis”