Skip to main content

Following the successes of Forward Together, the UNC School of Medicine has begun work to craft its next strategic plan.

A Strategic Plan Steering Committee has been set and members represent all areas of the School of Medicine. The team will help guide the development of the next strategic plan, including work to ensure that the plan helps the school reach its mission of becoming the nation’s leading public school of medicine.

Committee members are:


  • Vice Dean for Strategic Initiatives Cam Enarson, MD, MBA
  • Department of Pediatrics Professor and Division Chief Benny Joyner, MD, MPH

UNC School of Medicine leaders

  • UNC Health Foundation President Leslie Nelson-Bernier
  • School of Medicine Chief Information Officer Jill Jemison, MBA
  • Senior University Counsel for Medical Affairs Paul Neimeyer, JD
  • Integrated Communications Manager Leslie Wimmer
  • Associate Dean for Administration Karlina Matthews, MBA
  • Director of Business Operations Martha Modlin, MBA
  • Executive Director of Operations Alyssa Zamierowski

Basic science chairs

  • Genetics Chair Fernando Pardo-Manuel de Villena, PhD
  • Cell Biology and Physiology Chair Kathleen Caron, PhD

Center directors

  • UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center Director Shelley Earp, MD
  • NC TraCS Co-Director Nick Shaheen, MD, MPH
  • Institute for Global Health and Infectious Diseases Director Mike Cohen, MD

Health sciences

  • Department of Health Sciences Chair Steve Hooper, PhD


  • Department of Medicine Vice Chair for Administration Linda Raftery

Clinical chairs

  • Department of Psychiatry Chair Samantha Meltzer-Brody, MD, PhD
  • Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery Chair Dell Yarbrough, MD
  • Department of Surgery Chair Caprice Greenberg, MD, MPH


  • William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of Genetics Jenny Ting, PhD
  • Kenan Distinguished Professor of Cell Biology and Physiology Ben Philpot, PhD
  • Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics Keisha Gibson, MD, MPH
  • Associate Professor of Family Medicine Amir Barzin, DO


  • Department of Microbiology and Immunology Director of Finance and Administration Dallas Carter
  • School of Medicine Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Director of Strategic Initiatives Stephanie Brown, PhD
  • School of Medicine Finance and Business Operations Executive Assistant Rashad Carlson

UNC Health

  • UNC Faculty Physicians President Matt Mauro, MD
  • UNC Medical Center President Janet Hadar, MSN, MBA

Campus associate deans

  • UNC School of Medicine Wilmington Associate Dean Joe Pino, MD
  • UNC School of Medicine Asheville Associate Dean Robyn Latessa, MD

MD program

  • Student Government Co-President Rayad Shams
  • Student Government Co-President Isaac Sluder

Health science programs

  • Graduate student in the Department of Health Sciences Nabin Abu Khalaf
  • PhD student in the Department of Health Sciences program Bryce Griffin

PhD program

  • PhD student in pathobiology and translational sciences Shea Ricketts
  • PhD student in bioinformatics and computational biology JP Flores

Medical alumni

  • Anesthesiologist and Medical Alumni Association President Frank Hatchett, MD


  • Department of Urology Resident Brooks Spratte, MD
  • Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Resident Nigel ‘Biola’ Brinson, MD