Skip to main content

An ad hoc committee has been appointed to undertake a routine review of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology and the leadership of its chair, Craig Cameron, PhD. The review is a standard procedure of UNC-Chapel Hill and will take place on Feb. 2.

The review committee invites your input:

  • If you would like to submit written comments or schedule a time to interview, contact the Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development ( The deadline to submit feedback is Jan. 19.

Note that North Carolina law requires that any written materials developed or received by the committee during the review may be made available to the person reviewed upon request. All requests from the person reviewed will be handled by the legal department and any identifying information will be redacted prior to release of the material.

Members of the Review Committee:

Jonathan Oberlander, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Social Medicine (Committee Chair)

Dominic Ciavatta, PhD, Associate Professor, Genetics

Georgette Dent, MD, Associate Professor, Pathology Lab Medicine

Jill Dowen, PhD, Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Biophysics

Scott Randell, PhD, Professor, Cell Biology and Physiology

Sean Whelan, PhD, Distinguished Professor and Department Head, Molecular Microbiology, Washington University of Medicine in Saint Louis