Skip to main content

Jean Wright, MD, has been selected to serve as the next chair of the UNC Department of Radiation Oncology. She will start work in her new role on Aug. 5.

Wright comes to UNC from Johns Hopkins where she served in several leadership roles in their department of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences, including as Director of Breast Radiation Oncology and Vice Chair of Patient Safety and Quality.

She received her BA from Brown University and her MD from Columbia before serving an internship in internal medicine at Yale University Greenwich Hospital and her residency at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.

Please join us in welcoming her to the Carolina community. Thank you to Ellen Jones, MD, who has served as interim chair for the department since July 1, 2023