Skip to main content

Dear teammates,

Dr. Matt Mauro will step down from his position as president of UNC Faculty Physicians effective Sept. 1 and transition to the Department of Radiology in the School of Medicine as a tenured professor of radiology. We thank Dr. Mauro for his decade of leadership at the helm of UNCFP.

Dr. Mauro has numerous and significant achievements throughout his career and in leading the faculty physicians. This year, he was presented with honorary membership to the European Society of Radiology. He is a recipient of the American Board of Radiology Lifetime Service Award and just completed his term as President of the Radiological Society of North America in 2023. Dr. Mauro led the faculty physicians during a period of significant growth.

Please join us in thanking Dr. Mauro for his service and leadership. More details about a search for a successor are forthcoming.


Matthew G. Ewend, MD

Chief Clinical Officer, UNC Health

President, UNC Physicians


Cristy Page, MD, MPH

Chief Academic Officer, UNC Health

Executive Dean, UNC School of Medicine