Skip to main content


UNC Department of Emergency Medicine is proud to offer an ACGME-accredited one year EMS Fellowship led by nationally renowned EMS faculty. The Fellowship goal is to provide promising EMS physicians with the opportunity to explore innovative systems management, prehospital research, and challenging educational objectives under the guidance of established EMS physician mentors in an academic setting.

Program Director


The UNC EMS Fellowship will provide a solid education in all aspects of both ground and aeromedical systems over a period of 12 months. The fellow will join the UNC faculty in medical direction for two very different EMS systems; an innovative EMS system in Orange County (urban/rural mix) which includes Chapel Hill, and a much larger EMS system in Wake County (urban/suburban) which includes the city of Raleigh. The fellows will also be involved in critical care transport through medical direction of Carolina AirCare, a busy ground and aeromedical transport service which includes both rotor and fixed wing. They will provide medical direction at large events in the area including UNC sporting events, campus events such as the Chapel Hill Halloween celebration, and big events in Raleigh such as the State Fair. The fellow will also be involved in tactical EMS concepts through medical direction of the NC State Highway Patrol. Finally, fellows will also be introduced to Wilderness EMS concepts through a relationship with Dr. Seth Hawkins, medical director of the NC State Parks System.

Application Instructions

Send your updated CV, a personal statement outlining your reason for pursuing an EMS fellowship program, and three letters of recommendation (one must be from your program director) to Dr. Joseph Grover using the link below.


Fellowship Core Faculty

Salary and Benefits

As an ACGME accredited fellowship, fellows are provided standard GME benefits at the PGY-4 level. Refer to the GME website for the most up to date benefits provided.


  • Brent Myers, MD, MPH – CMO of ESO Solutions; former Director and Medical Director of Wake EMS, former President of NAEMSP
  • Tripp Winslow, MD, MPH – Medical Director for the NC Office of EMS
  • Paul Hinchey, MD, MPH – President of the University Hospitals Community Delivery Network in Cleveland, OH, Former Medical Director of Austin-Travis EMS
  • Jose Cabanas, MD, MPH – Director and Medical Director of Wake County EMS, CMO of Wake County, President-elect of NAEMSP
  • Jefferson Williams, MD, MPH – Deputy Medical Director of Wake County EMS
  • Phillip Moy, MD – Medical Director ARCH Air Medical Services and Assistant Professor of Washington University in St. Louis
  • Mark Quale, MD – Medical Director of Alamance County Emergency Services
  • Stephanie Crapo, MD – EM Physician with RidgeCrest Regional Hospital, Former Medical Director of NC State Highway Patrol
  • Diane Miller, MD, MS – Medical Director NC State Highway Patrol, Clinical Assistant Professor UNC Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Stephanie Trowbridge, MD – Founder/Medical Director for Range Urgent Care, Former Medical Director for Haywood County Emergency Services
  • Joseph Grover, MD – Medical Director of Orange County Emergency Services and UN EMS Fellowship Program Director, Clinical Assistant Professor UNC Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Taibah Alabdrabalnabi, MD
  • Shaun Patterson, DO – Medical Director of EMS and EM Physician at Hackensack University Medical Center
  • Richard Benson, MD – Medical Director of Maria Parham Emergency Department and Medical Director of Vance County EMS
  • Benjamin Smith, MD –Medical Director for Carolina AirCare, Clinical Assistant Professor UNC Department of Emergency Medicine
  • David Arbona, MD – Core Faculty Brandon Regional Emergency Medicine Residency, Medical Director for Reliable Medical Response, Assistant Medical Director for Bay County Fire Rescue
  • Irfan Husain, MD – Clinical Assistant Professor and EMS Faculty at Emory Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Glenn Burket, DO – EM Physician and EMS Medical Director in Grand Junction, CO
  • Johannah Merrill, MD- EM Physician with Lawrence General Hospital and Medical Director for North Andover Fire Department
  • Mariecely Luciano-Feijoo, MD- Deputy Medical Director of NC State Highway Patrol, Clinical Assistant Professor UNC Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Aiman Saleh, MD- Resident in Emergency Medicine at UNC EM Residency Program
  • Nathaniel Miller, MD- Medical Director for Harnett County Emergency Services in NC
  • Jonathan Pozner, MD- EM Physician with Christiana Health in Delaware, Medical Director for Delaware Park Race Track and Casino EMS