Skip to main content

Diversity and Inclusion are important values and priorities within our department and residency program, shared with our institution. UNC Health Care and the School of Medicine are home to a diverse family of physicians, researchers and staff members who are dedicated to serving all the people of North Carolina. The School of Medicine established an Office of Inclusive Excellence in 2017, which provides coordination, oversight and leadership of the UNC SOM’s diversity and inclusion programs and leads school efforts to build a diverse faculty and inclusive environment that values and respects the contributions of all members of the community.

UNC Health Care’s and the School of Medicine’s diversity statement:  “The UNC Health Care System and the UNC School of Medicine are committed to valuing all people throughout our organization, regardless of background, lifestyle, and culture. A diverse and inclusive work environment for staff and culturally appropriate care for our patients, are essential to fulfilling our UNC Health Care vision of improving the health of all North Carolinians.”

The UNC Department of Emergency Medicine and the UNC EM Residency Program aim to recruit a diverse group of faculty and residents to provide medical care to our diverse patient population. We participate the UNC School of Medicine Resident Diversity Initiate, Carolina First Look Program, MED program, and Summer Science Enrichment Program. Students of underrepresented minority groups interested in rotating at UNC may apply for the UNC SOM Larry D. Keith Scholarship and our own visiting student scholarship {link}.

Women in Medicine

We are fortunate to have numerous amazing female attendings on faculty, many of whom serve as department leaders, including Dr. Judith Tintinalli, Chair Emeritus; Dr. Jane Brice, Chair and EMS Fellowship Director; Dr. Nikki Binz, Residency Director; Dr. Christina Shenvi, Assistant Residency Director; Dr. Sarah Stahmer, Ultrasound Director; Dr. Tracy Deselm, Medical Student Advisor; and Dr. Eugenia Quackenbush, Division Director of Clinical Research. We have created a “Shemergency” group, who meets several times a year to discuss issues women face in medicine, support each other, and enjoy each other’s company. We also have many female alumnae in leadership positions, including Dr. Cheri Hobgood, former SAEM president and Chair of Emergency Medicine at Indiana University.