Skip to main content

UNC Neurosurgery Faculty



Nelson Oyesiku, MD, PhD, FACS – Department Chair

Dr. Nelson Oyesiku is Chair of the UNC Department of Neurosurgery, joining the faculty in March, 2021. His clinical and research focus is the surgical treatment and molecular biology of pituitary tumors. Dr. Oyesiku has performed more than 1,500 surgeries for pituitary tumors and has been featured in news and TV specials discussing his expertise in pituitary tumor treatment. More –>



Matthew Ewend, MD, FACS

Neurosurgeon Dr. Matt Ewend - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Matthew G. Ewend is President of UNC Physicians and former Chair of the Department of Neurosurgery. Dr. Ewend’s clinical interests lie in the fields of brain tumors (including brain metastases), trigeminal neuralgia, radiosurgery, Chiari malformation, hydrocephalus and pediatric neurosurgery.

In addition to these roles, Dr. Ewend is the Chief Quality and Value Officer for the University of North Carolina Health Care System. He is also the Group Leader for NeuroOncology in the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center. More –>

Eldad Hadar, MD

Neurosurgeon Dr. Eldad Hadar - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Eldad J. Hadar is a professor and the Residency Program Director in the Department of Neurosurgery, joining UNC Healthcare in August 2001.Since arriving at UNC, Dr. Hadar has been an active member of the neurosurgical service. In addition to his general neurosurgery practice, he serves as director of both the Epilepsy Surgery and Functional Neurosurgery programs and has been a member of the UNC Spine Center since 2002. He has special interest in minimally-invasive spine surgery and in complex spinal reconstruction. More –>



Sivakumar Jaikumar, MD

Neurosurgeon Dr. Sivakumar Jaikumar- UNC NeurosurgerySince arriving at UNC, Dr. Jaikumar has been an active member of the neurosurgical service. In addition to his general neurosurgery practice, his interests include trigeminal neuralgia, brain tumors (primary and metastatic), tumors of spine, sacral chordomas, stereotactic radiosurgery for brain tumors, minimally invasive spine surgery and complex spinal reconstruction. More –>




Deanna Sasaki-Adams, MD

Neurosurgeon Dr. Sasaki-Adams - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Deanna M. Sasaki-Adams is a board-certified neurosurgeon appointed as an Associate Professor and Section Chief of Cerebrovascular and Skull Base neurosurgery in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.Her academic interests include treatment of intracerebral aneurysms via both open and endovascular techniques, stroke, as well as treatment of skull base tumors including pituitary tumors, meningiomas, vestibular schwannomas, and clival chordomas. More –>



Deb Bhowmick, MD

Spinal Neurosurgeon Dr. Deb Bhowmick - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Deb A. Bhowmick is a neurosurgeon specializing in complex spinal surgery. He is an Associate Professor and Section Chief of Spinal Neurosurgery in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. His academic interests include treatment of spinal tumors, spinal trauma, rheumatologic diseases of the spine, complex spinal deformities, and minimally invasive treatment of spinal degenerative conditions including herniated disks, spinal spondylolisthesis and stenosis. More –>



Kenneth Owen Price, MD

Neurosurgeon Dr. Ken Price - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Ken Price joined UNC Health Care in December 2015 as an Associate Professor. Prior to starting at UNC, Dr. Price ran a private practice in general adult neurosurgery in Durham and actively participated in the Duke Neurosurgery Residency Training Program from 2003 – 2015. More –>



Scott Elton, MD, FAANS, FAA

Dr. Scott Elton - UNC Pediatric NeurosurgeryDr. Scott W. Elton joined the Department of Neurosurgery in January 2013, to develop the Division of Pediatric Neurosurgery where he now serves as Division Chief and Director. Dr. Elton has worked in both community and academic hospitals in a wide variety of practices–private, academic, and corporate–in both Ohio and Arizona. Dr. Elton is interested in teaching residents and medical students, evaluating cost containment, and creating pragmatism in care. More –>



Carolyn Quinsey, MD

Pediatric Neurosurgeon Dr. Carolyn Quinsey - UNC Neurosurgery Dr. Carolyn Quinsey is a board eligible pediatric and adult neurosurgeon who specializes in minimally invasive surgery and endoscopy. Dr. Quinsey is fellowship trained in pediatric neurosurgery and operates on children and adults using innovative techniques which include endoscopic, endonasal, eyebrow craniotomy, and microscopic approaches. More –>




Edward Yap, MD

Neurosurgeon Dr. Edward Yap - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Edward Yap joined the UNC Neurosurgery faculty in late December of 2019 as an Assistant Professor. After Dr. Yap’s completion of his neurosurgery residency with UNC Neurosurgery in 2018, he completed a fellowship in neuroendovascular surgery at the University of Wisconsin in Madison. His Interests include vascular and endovascular neurosurgery and skull-base pathologies. More –>



Vibhor Krishna, MD

Dr. Vibhor Krishna, UNC Department of NeurosurgeryDr. Vibhor Krishna is a board-certified neurosurgeon with expertise in functional neurosurgery and neuromodulation. As a surgeon-scientist, he focuses on translational neuroimaging research with a goal to improve patient outcomes. More –>




Brian Sindelar, MD

Dr. Brian SindelarDr. Brian Sindelar is a board-certified neurosurgeon with an appointment as Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is currently serving on active duty under the established military-civilian partnership between the US Army and UNC. More –>





Kevin Carneiro, DO

Dr. Kevin Carniero - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Kevin Carneiro is a board-certified physiatrist in physical medicine and rehabilitation as well as sports medicine. He has conducted research and written book chapters and journal articles on musculoskeletal, sports and occupational rehabilitation medicine, most recently on exercise for low back pain. He presents regular lecture modules in musculoskeletal, sports and spine rehabilitation, and has lectured at various meetings on subjects ranging from complementary and alternative approaches to pain management, to return-to-play guidelines for athletes. More –>


Neurosurgery Research

Dawn Kernagis, Ph.D.

Dawn Kernagis, PhD - UNC NeurosurgeryDr. Dawn Kernagis is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurosurgery studying neuroprotective strategies for individuals who will be exposed to high physiological stress. Dawn came to UNC from IHMC, where she worked as a Research Scientist and led a research program focused on human performance and neuroprotection in response to stresses in extreme environments.. More –>



Nurse Practitioners

Erin Judson, ANP-BC

Lindsay Thorp, FNP-BC 

Melody Watral, CPNP-PC, CPON

Kristi Hildebrand, MSN, CPNP-AC