Primary Faculty

Bergmeier_Wolfgang Wolfgang Bergmeier, PhD
Associate Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Adhesion mechanisms of platelets and neutrophils
Office: 306A Mary Ellen Jones
Phone: 919-962-7331
web | bergmeie@email.unc.edu

Campbell_Sharon_sqare Sharon Campbell, PhD
Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Regulator molecules in cell growth control and cell adhesion
Office: 3093 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-7139
web | campbesl@med.unc.edu

Charlie Carter, Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Charles Carter, Jr., PhD
Professor
Research: Protein crystallography, structural polymorphism and function
Office: 3092 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-3263
web | carter@med.unc.edu

Xian Xian Chen, PhD
Associate Professor
Research: Systems biology and quantitative proteomics
Office: 3072 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-843-5310
web | xianc@email.unc.edu

Cook_Jean Jean Cook, PhD
Associate Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Cell Cycle Control
Office: 3062 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-843-3867
web | jgcook@email.unc.edu

Stephen Crews PhD Stephen Crews, PhD
Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Molecular Control of Nervous System Development
Office: 321 Fordham
Phone: 919-423-8236 (Cell)
web |steve_crews@unc.edu

Dohlman_Henrik Henrik Dohlman, PhD
Professor and Vice-Chair
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Regulators of G protein signaling
Office: 3046 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-843-6894
web | hdohlman@med.unc.edu

Nikolay Dokholyan, PhD Nikolay Dokholyan, PhD
Michael Hooker Distinguished Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Computational/experimental biophysics and structural biology
Office: 3097 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-843-2513
web | dokh@email.unc.edu

ErredeBeverly.jpg Beverly Errede, PhD
Professor
Research: MAP-kinase activation pathways
Office: 3043 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-3628
web | errede@email.unc.edu

FriedHoward.jpg Howard Fried, PhD
Associate Professor
Research: Nucleocytoplasmic transport and RNA-protein interactions
Office: 3090 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-962-0118
web | refried@email.unc.edu

Ke_Hengming_Pro_sq_165.jpg Hengming Ke, PhD
Professor
Research: X-ray protein crystallography and biochemistry
Office: 3077 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-2244
web | hengming_ke@med.unc.edu

kuhlman2012.jpg Brian Kuhlman, PhD
Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Computational protein design and structural biology
Office: 3096 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-843-0188
web | bkuhlman@email.unc.edu

Barry Lentz, PhD Barry Lentz, PhD
Professor
Research: Biomembrane microstructure and cell function
Office: 3044 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-5384
web | uncbrl@med.unc.edu

Patricia Maness, PhD
Professor
Research: Molecular mechanisms of axon growth and guidance
Office: 3020 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-5702
web | srclab@med.unc.edu

William Marzluff William Marzluff, PhD
Kenan Distinguished Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Regulation of gene activity in animal cells
Office: 208 Fordham
Phone: 919-962-2140
web | william_marzluff@med.unc.edu

MeissnerGerhard.jpg Gerhard Meissner, PhD
Professor
Research: Structure and regulation of intracellular calcium channels
Office: 3047 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-5021
web | meissner@med.unc.edu

neherpic.jpg Saskia Neher, PhD
Assistant Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Maturation and regulation of a group of human lipases
Office: 3113 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-9550
web | neher@email.unc.edu

Leslie Parise, PhD - Professor and Chair Leslie Parise, PhD
Professor and Chair
Research: Cell adhesion in cardiovascular disease and cancer
Office: 3016 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-2238
web | parise@med.unc.edu

ramsden165.jpg Dale Ramsden, PhD
Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: V(D)J recombination and double strand break repair
Office: 32-044 Lineberger
Phone: 919-966-9839
web | dale_ramsden@med.unc.edu

RIORDAN - John John Riordan, PhD
Michael Hooker Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics
Research: Structure and function of ABC proteins
Office: 6107 Thurston
Phone: 919-843-4781
web | john_riordan@med.unc.edu

SANCAR - Aziz Aziz Sancar, PhD
Sarah Graham Kenan Professor
Research: DNA repair and regulation of the circadian clock
Office: 3073 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-962-0115
web | aziz_sancar@med.unc.edu

gsancar2012.jpg Gwen Sancar, PhD
Professor
Research: DNA repair and cellular responses to DNA damage
Office: 3078 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-2077
web | gwendolyn_sancar@med.unc.edu

Brian Strahl, PhD
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Research: Histone modifications
Office: 3060 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-843-3896
web | brian_strahl@med.unc.edu

SWANSTROM - Ronald Ronald Swanstrom, PhD
Charles J. Postelle Distinguished Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Molecular biology of retroviruses
Office: 22-006 Lineberger
Phone: 919-966-5710
web | risunc@med.unc.edu

TRAUT - Thomas Thomas Traut, PhD
Professor
Research: Allosteric enzymes: size, regulation and function
Office: 3079 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-5044
web | traut@med.unc.edu

Gang (Greg) Wang, PhD
Assistant Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Cancer epigenetics: chemical modifications of histones
Office: 31-327 Lineberger
Phone: 919-966-5952
web | greg_wang@med.unc.edu

WolfendenRichard.jpg Richard Wolfenden, PhD
Alumni Distinguished Professor
Research: Solvent water: enzyme reaction mechanisms
Office: 3111 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-1203
web | richard_wolfenden@med.unc.edu

Yue Xiong, PhD Yue Xiong, PhD
William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor
Accepting Rotation Students

Research: Cell cycle control and ubiquitin pathway in human diseases
Office: 22-012 Lineberger
Phone: 919-962-2142
web | yxiong@email.unc.edu

Qi Zhang, PhD
Assistant Professor
Accepting Rotation Students
Research: Molecular basis of RNA function
Office: 3017 Genetic Medicine
Phone: 919-966-5770
web | qi_zhang@med.unc.edu