Primary Faculty | Jointly Appointed Faculty | Adjunct Faculty

Primary Faculty

Kevin Alby, PhD
Clinical microbiology
Phone: 984-974-1805
Email: kevin.alby@unchealth.unc.edu

Silvio Antoniak, PhD
Protease-activated receptors in cardiovascular diseases, myocarditis, and heart failure animal models
Phone: 919-843-7305
Email: antoniak@email.unc.edu

Pablo Ariel, PhD
Director of the Microscopy Services Laboratory
Phone: 919-966-2413
Fax: 919-966-6718
Email: pablo_ariel@med.unc.edu

Frederic B. Askin, MD
Surgical Pathology and pulmonary pathology
Phone: 984-974-9152
Email: Frederic.Askin2@unchealth.unc.edu

J. Todd Auman, PhD
Director, Tissue Procurement Facility, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Phone: 919-843-8477
Email: jtauman@email.unc.edu

Michelle Aurelius, MD
Forensic pathology
Phone: 919-743-9000

Xue Bai, PhD
Molecular and functional roles of RhoGaps in hypertension and metabolism regulation
Phone: 919-843-5512
Email: Xue_Bai@med.unc.edu

Victoria K. Baxter, DVM, PhD
Pathogenesis of and host immune response to infectious disease, particularly encephalomyelitic arboviruses; animal model development
Phone: 919-962-5322
Email: vkbaxter@med.unc.edu

Sandra C. Bishop–Freeman, PhD, F-ABFT
Forensic toxicology
Phone: 919-743-9011
Email: sandra.bishop@dhhs.nc.gov

Jessica Booker, PhD
Molecular Genetic Pathology and Clinical Molecular Genetics Laboratory
Phone: 984-974-1456
Email: Jessica.Booker@unchealth.unc.edu

Christine Bookhout, MD
Surgical pathology
Phone: 984-974-9143
Email: Christine.Bookhout@unchealth.unc.edu

Thomas W. Bouldin, MD
Neuropathology, ophthalmic pathology, and experimental models of peripheral neuropathy
Phone: 984-974-9151
Email: tbouldin@med.unc.edu

Russell R. Broaddus, MD, PhD
Chair of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Phone: 919-966-4676/4677 for Interim Executive Assistant, Jessica Mayse
Email: rbroaddus@med.unc.edu

Justin O. Brower, PhD
Forensic toxicology
Phone: 919-743-9011
Email: justin.brower@dhhs.nc.gov

Benjamin C. Calhoun, MD, PhD
Breast pathology
Phone: 984-974-9145
Email: ben.calhoun@unc.edu

Frank C. Church, PhD
Molecular and cellular mechanisms of thrombosis, hemostasis, vascular biology, and tumor cell invasion; structure-activity relationships of serine proteases and serine protease inhibitors
Phone: 919-966-3314
Email: fchurch@email.unc.edu

Brian C. Cooley, PhD
Animal models of thrombosis, hemostasis, vascular grafting, and cardiovascular biology
Phone: 919-962-4912
Email: brian_cooley@med.unc.edu

Steven Cotten, PhD
Clinical chemistry
Phone: 984-974-1489
Email: Steven.Cotten@unchealth.unc.edu

Georgette A. Dent, MD
Hematopathology and medical education
Phone: 919-962-8334
Fax: 919-966-0730
Email: georgette_dent@med.unc.edu

Leslie G. Dodd, MD
Cytopathology and surgical pathology; neoplasms of bone and soft tissue
Phone: 984-974-9147
Email: Leslie.Dodd@unchealth.unc.edu

Rosann A. Farber, PhD
Human molecular genetics; somatic-cell genetics; instability of simple sequence repeats (microsatellites) in mammalian cells; DNA-bases diagnosis of genetic disorders (fragile X mental retardation, hereditary colorectal cancer)
Phone: 919-966-6920
Email: rfarber@med.unc.edu

Yuri Fedoriw, MD
Diagnostic hematopathology with particular interest in new flow cytometric and molecular techniques and their application to the classification and diagnosis of hematolymphoid disorders
Phone: 984-974-8324
Email: Yuri.Fedoriw@unchealth.unc.edu

Craig A. Fletcher, DVM, PhD
Laboratory animal medicine; vascular biology; animal models of human disease
Phone: 919-843-9605
Email: craig_fletcher@med.unc.edu

Matthew Flick, PhD
Elucidating mechanisms linking coagulation and fibrinolytic factors to inflammatory, infectious, and malignant disease
Phone: 919-843-1339
Email: matthew_flick@med.unc.edu

Jonathan Galeotti, MD
Hematopathology
Phone: 984-974-8321
Email: Jonathan.Galeotti@unchealth.unc.edu

Nicola Gerken, MHS, PA(ASCP)
Pathologists’ Assistant; surgical pathology training for residents and students
Phone: 984-974-9163
Email: nicola.gerken@unchealth.unc.edu

Virginia L. Godfrey, DVM, PhD
Veterinary pathology; animal models of disease; T cell development and biology; autoimmune disease
Phone: 919-966-2903
Email: vgodfrey@med.unc.edu

Kevin Greene, MD
Liver and gastrointestinal pathology
Phone: 984-974-9157
Email: Kevin.Greene@unchealth.unc.edu

Margaret L. Gulley, MD
Molecular diagnostics, hematopathology and oncology, and Epstein-Barr virus-related diseases
Phone: 919-843-4595
Email: margaret_gulley@med.unc.edu

Susan Hadler, MD
Medical education
Phone: 919-537-3158
Email: hadlers@dentistry.unc.edu

Nabila Haikal, MD
Forensic pathology.
Phone: 919-743-9000
Email: Nabila.Haikal@dhhs.nc.gov

Tracy M. Heenan, DVM
Laboratory animal medicine; providing veterinary consultation to principal investigators in development of grant application utilizing vertebrate animals
Phone: 919-966-5569
Fax: 919-966-8429
Email: tracy_heenan@med.unc.edu

Johann D. Hertel, MD
Cytopathology and surgical pathology
Phone: 984-974-9144
Email: johann.hertel@unchealth.unc.edu

Steve Holmes, BS, MHS
Pathologists’ Assistant; surgical pathology training for residents and students
Phone: 984-974-9163
Email: SHolmes@unch.unc.edu

Jonathon W. Homeister, MD, PhD
Molecular mechanisms of leukocyte trafficking and homing in inflammatory and/or immune reactions; glycobiology of the selectin adhesion molecules and their ligands, and how these molecules contribute to the pathophysiology of the atherosclerotic and thrombotic disease processes
Phone: 919-966-9748
Fax: 919-966-6718
Email: jonathon_homeister@med.unc.edu

Peiqi Hu, MD
Immune-mediated kidney disease
Phone: 919-966-2421
Email: pqhu@med.unc.edu

Kimberly Janssen, MD
Forensic pathology
Phone: 919-743-9000
Email: Kimberly.Janssen@dhhs.nc.gov

J. Charles Jennette, MD
Elucidating immunopathogenic mechanisms in human and experimental glomerular diseases and vasculitides; developing innovative approaches for using renal biopsy specimens and serology to diagnose and understand kidney disease
Phone: 919-966-4679
Email: charles_jennette@med.unc.edu

Kathleen A. Kaiser–Rogers, PhD
Clinical cytogenetics
Phone: 919-966-1595
Email: kkr@med.unc.edu

Masao Kakoki, MD, PhD
Prevention and treatment of cardiovascular diseases and the identification of genes that confer susceptibility or resistance to the diseases with the use of genetically engineered mice
Phone: 919-966-6915
Email: mkakoki@med.unc.edu

David G. Kaufman, MD, PhD
Cellular and molecular mechanisms of cancer development, including (1) regulation and organization of DNA replication in the early part of the S phase; and (2) epithelial cell-stromal cell interaction in normal human endometrial tissue and alterations during cancer development
Phone: 919-966-1396
Email: david_kaufman@med.unc.edu

April E. Kemper, MS, MHS
Pathologists’ Assistant; surgical pathology training for residents and students
Phone: 984-974-9163
Email: April.Kemper@unchealth.unc.edu

Mehmet Kesimer, PhD
Mucin glycobiology and airway epithelial pathobiology
Phone: 919-843-2577
Email: kesimer@med.unc.edu

Nichole L. Korpi–Steiner, PhD
General clinical chemistry, critical and point-of-care testing, and quality management
Phone: 919-966-1098
Email: Nichole.Korpi-Steiner@unchealth.unc.edu

Feng Li, PhD
Role of factors in the sFlt-1/ET-1 pathway in pre-eclampsia and potential prophylactic and therapeutic targets in the pathway
Phone: 919-966-6915
Email: feng_li@med.unc.edu

Jiandong Liu, PhD
Cardiovascular biology
Phone: 7-919-962-0326
Email: jiandong_liu@med.unc.edu

C. Tyler Long, DVM
Laboratory animal medicine
Phone: 919-843-0737
Email: longc@email.unc.edu

Christopher Mack, PhD
Molecular mechanisms of cardiovascular disease; transcription and cell signaling pathways that regulate smooth muscle cell differentiation
Phone: 919-843-5512
Email: cmack@med.unc.edu

Nobuyo N. Maeda, PhD
DNA-level studies of the generation of variations of genes, particularly in multi-gene families; gene targeting and molecular pathology of atherosclerosis; and molecular evolution
Phone: 919-966-6914
Email: nobuyo@med.unc.edu

Tracie Massey, PA(ASCP)
Tissue procurement; surgical pathology
Phone: 984-974-3536
Email: tracie_wagner@med.unc.edu

Stephanie P. Mathews, MD
Hematopathology
Phone: 984-974-8781
Email: Stephanie.Mathews@unchealth.unc.edu

Susan J. Maygarden, MD
Role of growth regulatory factors in prostatic carcinoma; clinicopathologic applications of fine needle aspiration cytology; surgical pathology
Phone: 984-974-9150
Email: Susan.Maygarden@unchealth.unc.edu

Gayle C. McGhee
Medical education
Phone: 919-966-4492
Email: gayle_mcghee@med.unc.edu

Jason Merker, MD, PhD
Molecular Pathology
Phone: 919-962-0225
Email: jdmerker@email.unc.edu

Melissa B. Miller, PhD
Use of molecular methodologies to understand the basis of clinical treatment failures and inaccurate laboratory diagnoses with regard to infectious diseases; DNA microarrays in the study of cystic fibrosis microbiology
Phone: 984-974-1444
Email: Melissa.Miller@unchealth.unc.edu

Nathan Montgomery, MD, PhD
Hematopathology and molecular genetic pathology
Phone: 919-445-6414
Email: Nathan.Montgomery@unchealth.unc.edu

Stephanie A. Montgomery, PhD, DVM
Animal models of cancer and infectious disease
Phone: 919-962-5345
Email: stephanie_montgomery@med.unc.edu

Vincent J. Moylan, Jr., MS, PA(ASCP)
Pathologists’ Assistant
Phone: 919-966-4467
Email: Vincent.Moylan@unchealth.unc.edu

Shanmugam Nagarajan, PhD
Immunologic and inflammatory mechanisms of diseases in atherosclerosis, vasculitis, and glomerulonephritis
Phone: 919-966-4676
Email: shannag@med.unc.edu

Craig Nelson, MD
Forensic pathology; water-related deaths, including drowning of all kinds and particularly scuba, rebreather, and freediving deaths
Phone: 919-743-9000
Email: craig.nelson@dhhs.nc.gov

Volker Nickeleit, MD
Renal pathology and transplant pathology
Phone: 919-966-2421
Email: volker_nickeleit@med.unc.edu

Siobhan M. O’Connor, MD
Breast pathology
Phone: 984-974-9154
Email: Siobhan.O’Connor@unchealth.unc.edu

Yara A. Park, MD
Transfusion medicine
Phone: 984-974-1581
Email: Yara.Park@unchealth.unc.edu

Andre Phelan, PA(ASCP)
Pathologists’ Assistant; surgical pathology training for residents and students
Phone: 984-974-9163
Email: Andre_Phelan@med.unc.edu

Li Qian, PhD
Cardiovascular and stem cell biology
Phone: 7-919-962-0340
Email: li_qian@med.unc.edu

Boris Reidel, PhD
Airway protein function in health and disease
Phone: 919-843-2577
Email: boris_reidel@med.unc.edu

Allison R. Rogala, DVM
Role of host genetics on host–microbe interactions; impact of environmental factors on murine models of human disease
Phone: 919-966-2901
Email: arrogala@email.unc.edu

T. Danielle Samulski, MD
Gynecologic pathology, ENT pathology, and cytopathology
Phone: 984-974-6176
Email: teresa.samulski@unchealth.unc.edu

Eizaburo Sasatomi, MD, PhD
Hepatobiliary and transplant pathology
Phone: 984-974-9146
Email: eizaburo_sasatomi@med.unc.edu

Lori R. Scanga, MD, PhD
Gynecologic pathology and cytopathology
Phone: 984-974-9142
Email: Lori.Scanga@unchealth.unc.edu

John L. Schmitz, PhD
Molecular diagnosis of sexually transmitted diseases; applications of flow cytometry in the clinical laboratory; laboratory immunology; histocompatibility
Phone: 919-966-8453
Email: John.Schmitz@unchealth.unc.edu

Lauren C. Scott, MD
Forensic pathology; preventive health, especially suicide and accident prevention; the value of autopsy in medical education
Phone: 919-743-9000
Email: lauren.scott@dhhs.nc.gov

Steven T. Shipley, DVM
Laboratory animal medicine; infectious disease
Phone: 919-966-2909
Email: sshipley@med.unc.edu

Jan F. Silverman, MD
Cytopathology, gastrointestinal pathology, and genitourinary pathology
Phone: 984-215-5156
Email: janf@med.unc.edu

Bart Singer, MD
Surgical pathology
Phone: 984-215-3684
Email: bart_singer@med.unc.edu

Harsharan Singh, MD
Nephropathology and electron microscopy
Phone: 919-966-2421
Email: hsingh@med.unc.edu

R. Chad Siniard, MD
Transfusion medicine, molecular pathology, and bioinformatics
Phone: 984-974-1579
Email: Rance.Siniard@unchealth.unc.edu

Scott V. Smith, MD
Surgical pathology and pediatric pathology
Phone: 984-974-9149
Email: Scott.Smith@unchealth.unc.edu

Joan M. Taylor, PhD
Dissecting the cellular signaling pathways that regulate normal and aberrant growth in the cardiovascular system; characterizing the role of adhesion signaling and tyrosine kinases in cardiomyocyte hypertrophy and smooth muscle cell growth and migration
Phone: 919-843-5511
Email: joan_m_taylor@med.unc.edu

Leigh B. Thorne, MD
Molecular pathology, muscle pathology, autopsy pathology, and tissue banking
Phone: 919-966-8003
Email: lthorne@med.unc.edu

Dimitri G. Trembath, MD, PhD
Neuropathology, surgical pathology, and ophthalmic pathology
Phone: 984-974-9153
Email: Dimitri.Trembath@unchealth.unc.edu

Cyrus Vaziri, PhD
Regulation of DNA replication, S-phase checkpoints, and post-replication DNA repair on mammalian cells
Phone: 919-843-9639
Email: cyrus_vaziri@med.unc.edu

Susan Venuti, MD
Forensic pathology
Phone: 919-743-9000
Email: susan.venuti@dhhs.nc.gov

Karen E. Weck, MD
Molecular genetic pathology
Phone: 919-966-4408
Email: Karen.Weck@unchealth.unc.edu

Eric T. Weimer, PhD
Clinical immunology
Phone: 919-966-4058
Email: Eric.Weimer@unchealth.unc.edu

Bernard E. Weissman, PhD
Tumor suppressor genes, gene mapping, cellular differentiation and transformation
Phone: 919-966-7533
Email: weissman@med.unc.edu

Herbert C. Whinna, MD, PhD
Hemostasis and thrombosis; biochemistry and vascular biology of blood coagulation; protein structure–function; clinical informatics and laboratory administration
Phone: 984-974-1503
Email: Herbert.Whinna@unchealth.unc.edu

Julia Whitaker, MS, DVM
Laboratory animal medicine
Phone: 919-843-2498
Fax: 919-843-9340
Email: julia_whitaker@med.unc.edu

David C. Williams, Jr., MD, PhD
Hematopathology
Phone (office): 919-843-9949
Phone (laboratory): 919-843-9950
Email: david_willjr@med.unc.edu

Scott E. Williams, PhD
Developmental and stem cell biology of epithelia; asymmetric cell division
Phone: 919-966-2737
Email: scott_williams@med.unc.edu

Lauren Wimsey, DVM
Francis Owen Blood Research Laboratory and the Division of Comparative Medicine
Phone: 919-966-1360
Email: lejob@email.unc.edu

Sara E. Wobker, MD, MPH
Urologic pathology
Phone: 984-974-9156
Email: sara_wobker@med.unc.edu

Alisa Wolberg, PhD
Thrombosis and hemostasis
Phone: 919-962-8943
Laboratory: 919-966-8430
Email: alisa_wolberg@med.unc.edu

John T. Woosley, MD, PhD
Dermatopathology; cutaneous tumors; gastrointestinal and hepatobiliary pathology; tumor grading; quantitative microscopy; and stain technology
Phone: 984-974-9148
Email: John.Woosley@unchealth.unc.edu

Hong Xiao, MD
Defining the immunopathological mechanisms involved in autoimmune glomerulonephritis and vasculitis
Phone: 919-966-8370
Email: hongx@med.unc.edu

Yang Yang, PhD
DNA damage and repair
Phone: 919-843-9639
Email: yangyang@email.unc.edu

Maimoona A. Zariwala, PhD
Genetic analysis of patients with primary ciliary dyskinesia (PCD)
Phone: 919-966-7050
Email: zariwala@unc.edu

Primary Faculty | Jointly Appointed Faculty | Adjunct Faculty

Jointly Appointed Faculty

Diane Armao, MD
Radiologic and pathologic correlations
Phone: 919-843-8249
Email: diane_armao@med.unc.edu

Claire M. Doerschuk, MD
Pediatric gastroenterology
Phone: 919-966-1782
Email: cmd@med.unc.edu

Ronald J. Falk, MD
Pediatric gastroenterology
Phone: 919-843-2659
Email: ronald_falk@med.unc.edu

Meghan Free, PhD
ANCA; autoimmunity; glomerulonephritis; nephrotic syndrome; T cells; myeloid-derived suppressor cells
Phone:  919-445-2629
E-mail: meghan_free@med.unc.edu

Paul Googe, MD
Dermatopathology
Phone: 919-966-0786

Ajay S. Gulati, MD
Pediatric gastroenterology
Phone: 919-843-2659
Email: Ajay_Gulati@med.unc.edu

Natalia Isaeva, PhD
Otolaryngology
Phone:  984-974-6484
E-mail: ni34@email.unc.edu

Nigel S. Key, MB, ChB
Thrombosis and hemostasis
Phone: 919-966-3311

Nigel Mackman, PhD
Thrombosis and hemostasis
Phone: 919-843-3961
Email: nigel_mackman@med.unc.edu

Jayson Miedema, MD
Dermatopathology
Phone: 984-974-3900

Valerie A. Murrah, DMD, MS
Oral pathology
Phone: 919-966-2746
Email: valerie_murrah@dentistry.unc.edu

Timothy C. Nichols, MD
Role of von Willebrand factor in thrombosis and atherosclerosis; molecular biology of porcine von Willebrand factor
Phone: 919-966-1061
Email: tnichols@med.unc.edu

Charles M. Perou, PhD
Breast cancer; genomics; microarrays; tumor classification; drug resistance
Phone: 919-843-5740
Email: cperou@med.unc.edu

Jonathan Schisler, PhD
Pharmacology; translational research in patients with myocardial infarcts
Phone: 919-843-8708
Email: schisler@unc.edu

Darrel W. Stafford, PhD
Molecular biology; structure-function relationships of coagulation factors
Phone: 919-962-2267
Email: dws@email.unc.edu

James A. Swenberg, DVM, PhD
Mechanisms of mutagenesis and carcinogenesis with emphasis on the role of DNA adducts and cell proliferation
Phone: 919-966-6139
Email: jswenber@email.unc.edu

Melissa Troester, PhD
Molecular studies with human populations
Phone: 919-966-6139
Email: troester@email.unc.edu

Young E. Whang, MD
Androgen receptor, HER-2 and Ack1 tryosine kinase, prostate cancer
Phone: 919-966-8645
Email: ywhang@med.unc.edu

Elizabeth M. Wilson, PhD
Steroid hormone regulation of gene expression; endocrinology; environmental androgens and antiandrogens
Phone: 919-966-5168
Email: emw@med.unc.edu

Wendell Yarbrough, MD
Otolaryngology
Phone:  919-843-7091

Primary Faculty | Jointly Appointed Faculty | Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

Araba N. Afenyi-Annan, MD, MPH

Edward Bahnson, PhD (Department of Surgery, UNC-CH)

Albert S. Baldwin, PhD (Department of Biology, UNC-CH)

Peter M. Banks, MD (Ventana–Roche Corporation)

Jared Block, MD (Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte, NC)

Mark E. Brecher, MD (LabCorp)

Paul Chastain, PhD (William Cary University College of Osteopathic Medicine)

William Coleman, PhD (Executive Officer of the Society for Investigative Pathology, Rockville, MD)

Bal Mukunda Dhungel, MD

David Eberhard, MD, PhD (Genomic Health, Inc., San Francisco, CA)

Peter Gilligan, PhD

M. David Goodman, MD

Delores J. Grant, PhD (North Carolina Central University)

Aaron Hartman, MD (Carolinas Pathology Group, Charlotte, NC)

W. Carl Jacobs, MD (Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte, NC)

H. Michael Jones, MD

Wendell D. Jones, PhD (Expression Analysis, Inc.)

Michal Kamionek, MD (Carolinas Pathology Group, Charlotte, NC)

William Kaufmann, PhD

Daniel J. Kenan, MD, PhD (Arkana Laboratories, Little Rock, AR)

Myla Lai-Goldman, MD (GeneCentric Diagnostics, Inc.; Personalized Science, LLC)

Thomas G. Lightfoot, MD (American Red Cross Blood Services)

Ruth Lininger, MD, MPH

Chad A. Livasy, MD (Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte)

Roger L. Lundblad, PhD (Consultant)

Emily Maambo, MD (Carolinas Pathology Group, Charlotte)

Christopher McKinney, MD (New Hanover Regional Medical Center, Wilmington)

C. Ryan Miller, MD, PhD (University of Alabama at Birmingham)

Keith V. Nance, MD (UNC Rex Healthcare)

Judith Nielsen, DVM

William R. Oliver, MD (East Carolina University)

Nirali Patel, MD

Avani Pendse, MD, PhD (Duke University)

Jay S. Raval, MD (University of New Mexico)

Howard M. Reisner, PhD

Ashley Rivenbark, PhD

William Eugene Sanders, MD (FDA/CDRH)

Gary Smith, PhD (Roswell Park Cancer Institute)

Nobuyuki Takahashi, MD, PhD (Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan)

Richard Tidwell, PhD

Tamiwe Tomoka, MBBS, FCPath(Anat) (Kamuzi Hospital, Malawi)

Ruth F. Walters, MD (Central Dermatology Center, Chapel Hill)

Carol Weida, MD (Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte)