How to Share Content

One of the great features of the web system is the ability to share your site with others for the purpose of adding and editing content. You can share as little or as much control as you wish over a page, folder or the entire site.

What You Can Share

  • You can only share content that
  1. you own (have created), or
  2. has already been shared with you
  • You can only assign permissions that you yourself have.  For example, someone with the 'can add' and 'can edit' permissions can assign these roles to others, but but cannot assign the 'can manage' role to anyone because they themselves do not have it.
  • [top]

    How to Share

    A Folder or Page

    Before a new user can view private content, add, edit, publish, or otherwise manage existing content, that content must first be shared with them.  To do this:

    1. Ensure you are logged in, and navigate to the folder or page you wish to share.
      • When sharing a folder, you will need to click on the Contents tab and then the Sharing tab. This ensures that you are sharing the folder and not just the page that might be set as the default view of the folder.  If you see the following warning, you are sharing the page, not the folder. 
        SharingWarning.png
      • When sharing all other content (page, news item, etc) simply click on the Sharing tab for that content.
    2. In the search box, search for the contributor you wish to add by last name or user id. Their name should appear in the
      results.
      Sharing
    3. Next to the contributor's name, check the box for each role you wish to assign.
      • "Inherit roles from higher levels" is currently checked by default. This means that users with permissions to the folder that contains this item also have access to this item (in this case, a another folder). Permission inheritance is turned on by default (users with access to a folder have access to all content within that folder).
    4. Scroll down and click the save button.  The user will have the specified ability to operate within the site immediately.

    [top]

    An Entire Site

    1. From the home page of your site click on the Contents tab.  This ensures that you are sharing the entire site and not just the home page.
    2. Click on the Sharing tab.
    3. In the search box, search for the contributor you wish to add by last name. Their name should appear in the results.
    4. Next to the contributor's name check the box for each role you wish to assign.
    5. Scroll down and click the save button.  The user will have the specified ability to operate within the site immediately.

    [top]

    Groups

    If you have a group of users who need the same role on multiple websites or across multiple products (web system, SharePoint, etc.) then assigning them to a group might be the easiest way to grant/manage their access.  In the web system a group can be given a particular role (can add, can edit, etc.) and all users in that group will gain the given role.  A good example of when a group would be useful is when you add an intranet to your web site and wish to grant viewing access to your entire department. The intranet by default is not open to the public and can only be viewed by those who are given the can view role.  Rather than search for and assign viewing capability for every person in your department you can simply have a group created for your department and assign the can view role to the group.  To request the creation of a group please contact webhelp@med.unc.edu.

    [top]

    Verifying Access

    Upon visiting the sharing tab you will see an assigned roles table like the following:

    AssignedRoles.png

    This table displays who has access to the piece of content (page, folder, etc) you are on as well as what roles have been assigned to them.

    [top]

    Removing Access

    To remove all or part of someones access you simply un-check the roles you wish to remove.  If you see a green circle icon with a white check mark iconConfirm.gif instead of the check box, this means that the role was inherited from a higher level.  You will need to navigate up through the folders containing the piece of content to the place in which access was originally assigned and where you will be able to remove access.

    AssignedRoles2.png

    [top]